Abby: An Introduction

This summer here at Central Library we have two fantastic teens working for us, Abby and Ari.  They will both be creating a series of posts for the blog, yay!  Here’s the first one, from Abby.

**

**

Hi, I’m Abby. I’m sixteen years old and I just happen to be blind. This summer, I am working at the Library Equal Access Program (LEAP) at the Seattle Public Library in downtown Seattle. The reason that I get to work at the library is because I am in an employment program called Youth Employment Solutions (YES). This program is specifically for blind people and I get to work for five weeks while practicing living on my own. And to be honest, it’s kind of scary but exciting at time same time!

I like to read fiction and fantasy books such as the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer and the Harry Potter series. I also read historical fiction such as Les Misérables by Victor Hugo.  I am a soprano with a big range and I like singing musical theater songs. My favorite musical is Les Mis. Also I enjoy talking to people online and writing fanfiction.

I want to be a language translator someday or an audio recording engineer. I am really excited to be writing on this blog.

So, I hope lots of teens read this and think differently about blind people and how they act.

Bye, Abby

Leave a Reply

