Getting to know your librarians – Wally

Then...

What should we call you?
Wally

Where can we find you?

West Seattle

 

Why teen services?

I was hired to fill a position back when the library system was just starting to serve teens specifically.  While it was not something I had studied for in library school, there is nothing I’d rather do now.  I’ve been working at it since 1998!

 

Favorite reference resource (print and/or online)?

My favorite print resource is probably the Oxford English Dictionary, which holds the accumulated history of the English language, full of quotes and examples, rare and arcane words, clear definitions, and histories of just about every word spoken by native English speakers.  My favorite online reference resource right now is probcast.com, which is a local weather data web site, with up-to-the-hour forecasts and the chances of any given weather condition occuring.  If you’re a fan of Seattle weather, this site will keep you busy for hours.

 

Favorite book of all time and favorite book right now?

Teen books: Right now, I’m enjoying part two of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation: The Kingdom on the Waves, and I think this will stand the test of time.  All time favorite teen book: The Golden Compass, for the incredibly detailed fantasy world, excellent characters, and suspenseful plot.

 

You live in Seattle To umbrella or not to umbrella?

Hat!

...Now!

…Now!

 

The best thing about living in Seattle is…

Rain!  Yes, rain!

 

We know you love Seattle but Where would you most like to live?
Paris, France, not Paris, Texas.

 

What is your favorite word?

Today, discombobulate.  I tried to think of a word I like, but the question discombobulated me.  Tomorrow, bamboozle.

 

What is your motto?

Live life to the fullest!

3 thoughts on “Getting to know your librarians – Wally

  1. ann

    I’ve known Wally for many years, and have appreciated the books he has referred my son to since he was four years old! Way to go Wally!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

