Getting to know your librarians – Jesten

Then...
Then…

 

What should we call you?
Jesten

Where can we find you?
Magnolia

Why teen services?
I hated being a teenager it was such an in-between time. You were no longer a child, but you also couldn’t do everything adults could do. I wanted to be a teen services librarian because I like teens. I empathize with them, and in some ways still remember exactly what it is like to be a teenager. So much pressure. Academic, social, personal, etc. Some people think teens have it so easy, but that is so not the case.

Favorite reference resource (print and/or online)?

I love Press Display and Grolier. Grolier because it is the first place I go to find general information on a topic or something I want to find out more about. Press Display because, well you’ve seen my blog post.

Favorite book of all time and favorite book right now?

Favorite book of all time gosh. Probably Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. Favorite book right now. I really liked Shift by Jennifer Bradbury which I read recently. Both books made me cry. So clearly they got to me.

You live in Seattle – To umbrella or not to umbrella?

Umbrella! If you live in a place where it rains I think that means you get to have all the umbrellas and galoshes you want. Sure they are frowned upon, but it doesn’t stop me.

The best thing about living in Seattle is…

psd’s. Perfect Seattle Day’s are when it is 70+ degrees, pure blue sky, and loads of sunshine. That and the food.

We know you love Seattle but where would you most like to live?

Somewhere where it is 70 degrees most of the time. Lots of sunshine. water, trees, good food.

What is your favorite word?

I do not know if I have one. I have words that come and go it seems. I was in a dude/man phase recently.

...Now!

…Now!

What is your motto?
I think I have too many to count.

  • Life is all about choices-and the only one who can make them is you.
  • Good or bad, you are responsible for what happens in your life.
  • Sometimes things are out of your control, but it is how you deal with those things that matters.
  • Treat your body like a temple.
  • What you do, what you see, what you listen to, and who you fill your life with all affects who you are.
  • Take care of yourself first.
  • Live, love Laugh.
  • Find beauty in everyday things.
  • Savor the small stuff.

2 thoughts on “Getting to know your librarians – Jesten

Leave a Reply

