Getting to know your librarians – Hayden

Then . . .

What should we call you?
Hayden

Where can we find you?
At the Teen Center librarian’s desk, Central Library, Level 3. I’m here pretty much all the time; they keep a cot for me in back.

Why teen services?
So many reasons. Teens are always interesting to talk to and full of good ideas. Plus, I love reading the teen books.

Favorite reference resource (print and/or online)?
Well, it’s not exactly a reference source, since you don’t use it to look up information, but I think LearningExpress Library is pretty awesome. You can use it to practice pretty much any standardized test (like the SAT, GED, or AP tests) for as long as you want for free.

Favorite book of all time and favorite book right now?
Oh man, I am terrible at picking favorites. The books I like the most are usually either prim-and-proper British books, like Pride and Prejudice, or dystopian fiction, like The Adoration of Jenna Fox or The Hunger Games. I’m not sure what that says about me.

You live in Seattle – To umbrella or not to umbrella?
In theory, I’m pro-umbrella. I love seeing a crowd of people walking down the street carrying umbrellas, and I think they are cool accessories. In practice, though, I rarely carry one. I like to travel light, and besides, I tend to leave my umbrellas behind in taxis and on buses.

The best thing about living in Seattle is…
It’s beautiful here-all the water and mountains and forests are pretty nice. Plus a lot of fantastic people live here.

We know you love Seattle but where would you most like to live?
Tuscany, maybe? I just need to brush up on my Italian a little bit. (By which I mean “learn more than three words.”)

What is your favorite word?
I like the sound of the word “archipelago” a lot.

What is your motto?
“Our bizarre superstitions are better than your bizarre superstitions.”

5 thoughts on “Getting to know your librarians – Hayden

  1. Dr. Marlene Bumgarner

    Haydn — I wonder if you can help me. I need to have a permission form signed by someone in order to use a picture of the great flyer I saw at the Seattle Public Library a couple of summers ago (LIVE! coming to a brnch near you THIS SUMMER: BOOKS, GAMING, ANIME, MOVIES, FOOD). I also need a Hi-Res photo of the flyer. I can’t find my original correspondence, but it was around June 2008. Can you direct me to someone who can help me? Thanks. Marlene mbumgarner@gavilan.edu/408-691-0351

    Reply
  2. Teen Blogger Post author

    Hi Marlene,

    I’ve contacted our Communications department, and they will be in touch with you shortly!

    Best,
    Hayden

    Reply

Leave a Reply

