Getting to know your librarians – Lesley

Then...

Then…

What should we call you?
Lesley

Where can we find you?
Douglass-Truth

Why teen services?
I’ve worked with teens since college, but I started by teaching video production and media literacy, which morphed into wanting to teach information literacy, which morphed into librarianship. I would have been a school teacher if I had the guts. I’m glad I get to help support teachers and especially glad I get to help teens get their work done, whatever it might be.

Favorite reference resource (print and/or online)?
The ones I use most often are the Internet Movie Database (imdb.com) and the good old World Book Encyclopedia. But I really like timelines of history that show you what was going on in the world at a particular time. And I really like symbols.com which lets you look up symbols by describing what they look like. And then there’s…

Favorite book of all time and favorite book right now?
Of all time – The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
Right this second, it’s Shaun Tan’s Tales from Outer Suburbia

To umbrella or not to umbrella?
Here’s the thing about Seattle: It doesn’t actually rain all that much. Yes, it’s cloudy and drizzly an awful lot of the time, but the overall rainfall isn’t that high. So, no umbrella for me. Just a thin layer of moss on my north side.

The best thing about living in Seattle is…all the tattoos.

We know you love Seattle but where would you most like to live?
London, England, because it’s just like Seattle only bigger and British.
...Now!

What is your favorite word?
Eleven.

What is your motto?
What would Buffy do?

One thought on “Getting to know your librarians – Lesley

Leave a Reply

