Getting to know your librarians – Nancy

What should we call you?
Nancy

Where can we find you?
Lake City

Why teen services?
Teens are rad, and I’ve been known to enjoy the odd vampire novel now and again. Not to mention Marvel comics.

Favorite reference resource (print and/or online)?
Exactly no one who knows me will be surprised that I absolutely love an old-school print reference book called The Whole Story: 3,000 Years of Sequels and Sequences.  The sheer ambition and audacity: the title says it all! The editor, John E. Simkin, attempts to list the books in every series ever written (in series order). You can find a series not only by author or title but also by main character. The downside is that the book is now out–of-date (the most recent edition is 1998). I really hope compiling the last edition didn’t do the editor in (I know the task would have finished me off)!  However I still have it behind the reference desk at my library and use it when someone wants to know the order of, say, one of Anne McCaffrey’s many dragon series. Yeah, yeah, you could look that up online.  But why ever would you want to when you can have the satisfaction of pulling out this weighty tome to find the answer?

Favorite book of all time and favorite book right now?
Ah, the impossible question. Two of my all-time favorite young adult novels are “Weetzie Bat” by Francesca Lia Block and “Feed” by M.T. Anderson. Recently I liked “The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks” by E. Lockhart. And “Unwind” by Neal Shusterman gave me nightmares — I don’t know if that is a good thing or not!

You live in Seattle – To umbrella or not to umbrella?
I’m definitely ‘team no umbrella.’ It’s too much to hold in my hands at the bus stop (along with all the books and my coffee).

The best thing about living in Seattle is…
The best thing about any place is the little quirky things that you might miss if you blink. For example I was a bit disappointed when someone took down the paper mache dinosaur head peeking from the shrubbery on 15th Ave NE near Roosevelt High School. But then I was very pleased to see that a festive giraffe head took its place soon thereafter!

 

Now!

Now!

We know you love Seattle but where would you most like to live?

Oh I don’t know; I’ve thought about living in Portland or Boston. And I sometimes miss California where I grew up.

What is your favorite word?
That’s a tough one, but I’ll go with peevish.

What is your motto?
I don’t think I have one. But I’ll go with fight the good fight, and be kind to all creatures. Like the bumper sticker says, “Mean people suck!”

Leave a Reply

