Book Review: The Hunger Games

hungergamesLG By the time I had decided to read this book, it had already been out for almost a year. It was actually my sister who told me about it – it had been recommended to her and she had absolutely loved it. When she bugged me to read it for the hundredth time, I finally went out and bought it (you see, the library had over 200 holds on only 43 copies). This had better be worth my twenty bucks, I thought. And oh, it was!

The Hunger Games takes place in the future, long after the continent we call North America has been destroyed and replaced with the country of Panem. Panem consists of the ruling Capitol, which is surrounded by 12 outlying districts (the 13th was destroyed when it rebelled against the Capitol). Every year the Capitol puts on a huge tournament known as the Hunger Games, in which 24 children (2 from each district) are forced to fight to the death on live TV. Katniss Everdeen, the story’s heroine, is a 16-year-old from the poorest district, District 12.  When her younger sister is chosen to compete, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She assumes this decision will be her death sentence, but it turns out the games have only just begun…

From the first chapter, I couldn’t put this book down. In less than 24 hours I had finished the entire story and was eagerly awaiting the upcoming sequel, Catching Fire. Suzanne Collins is known for being the author of the bestselling Underland Chronicles, so if you have enjoyed her other books, I would definitely recommend this one. And even if you aren’t familiar with her, like me, you MUST read this book! I will definitely be adding it to my list of favorites.

Review by Callan, teen blogger

Leave a Reply

