Transit Tips 101: How to deal with obnoxious riders

6061I ride the bus every day, everywhere. Sadly this means I don’t have a car, but that’s just life. It takes me an hour and a half to get to school, and on the way I take about every mode of transportation that exists in Seattle. I drive (well my mom drives me), take the bus, ride the ferry and periodically take the light rail. If I’m not an expert at navigating the Seattle Metro, then at least I know what I’m doing. Knowing this, I have decided to post some handy tips about the metro for anybody who cares. My first tip is on how to deal with obnoxious people on the bus.

First of all, I’ve been an obnoxious bus person myself.  Being an obnoxious bus rider means you talk way too loud, your friend is blaring rap out of their cell phone, your back pack is sitting in the middle of the aisle, you sit in the way back with your feet propped up on another chair, and in general, you just act annoying. Beware. At the least you’ll get the evil eye and at the worst a crazy person may rant at you. If you have already been the victim of such a rant, then you know that it’s just plain weird and leads to long awkward silences. In my opinion, you can be as annoying as you want to be, but you have to be ready for anything.

Now, here’s the tip. If you are sitting on the bus and a group of ridiculously annoying people gets on with you, just try to ignore them. Don’t yell at them to shut up or get off the bus to avoid them. For one, yelling at them often does absolutely nothing, in fact it usually encourages them, and secondly you should never get off a bus for stupid people. If you are feeling resentful, feel free to glare at them a bit, but don’t overdo it. I know people who have been beaten up for looking the wrong way at someone for too long. Just pop in your headphones, stare out the window and exercise a little patience, or perhaps read a book.

Good luck and have fun.

~Emily S., 16, Teen Center Advisor

Leave a Reply

