Cooking: More than another annoying hobby

              Now you're hanging out with the cool kids.

So, you figured out how to feed yourself with a spoon and a fork and drink from a big boy cup; what’s the next step? It’s time to learn how to cook.

The ability to cook is something that I think is truly important. One doesn’t have to be a gourmet chef or go to a culinary institute, but I think cooking is a skill that more people should have. I’m not saying this from the perspective of a “foodie,” either. The stereotype of people who know how to cook is that they slave away for hours in their kitchens to create a masterpiece on a plate, but it’s a lot simpler than that. Cooking skill can be as plain as knowing how to steam some rice or bake a cake, and it’s not nearly as terrifying as it’s made out to be.

Cooking meals at home has its benefits, too. Buying fresh ingredients and preparing them yourself is much healthier than buying prepared or fast food. It’s also cheaper— a massive vat of soup or chili can mean meals all week for a small family or a healthy, inexpensive meal for a large family. It means that you get to pick and choose what goes into your food. When was the last time you went to a restaurant and they put sardines in your milkshake when you specifically asked for anchovies? Never again will you face that dilemma! Besides all that, cooking can be fun, too. Nothing’s as satisfying for me as the smile on my mom’s face when I offer to cook dinner for her after a long day at work. In fact, the only bad part about cooking at home is having to wash your own dishes!

So, you want to start cooking, but you’re not even sure how to boil water on the stove? Fear not, because the library has cookbooks that you can check out! For a neophyte chef, I highly recommend The Way to Cook by Julia Child. It has easy recipes and a lot of simple tips on how to get started. Bon appétit!

~Georgia, 17, Teen Center Advisor

3 thoughts on “Cooking: More than another annoying hobby

  1. J

    If you like to cook you most likely also love to read about cooking. Some of my favorites lately have been:
    Garden Spell
    The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry (local author)
    My Life in France
    A Homemade Life (local author)

    Three of them include recipes.

    Reply
  2. Steve

    I loved your opening;

    I have recently converted to a quasi-vegetarian, and in my home, food is always in abundance. My problem though, is Saars. Our family dines on bulk meat. It’s terrible I know. Every meal we have is saturated in thick meaty (usually expired…) flesh, and as a quasi-veg I have to find creative ways to eat. It’s really interesting. Cooking for me has become imperative if I want to survive “that day” especially when meat is out of the question. Simple MUNDANE meals/snacks such as making a Peanut Butter Jelly Sandwich really makes me feel empowered, it gives me solace in understanding, work, effort, and (in the bigger picture ethics). I sincerely wish that everyone learns how to cook. It’s all so intimate to feed your mouth your body, and your soul. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

