The Phantom of the Opera

While I was in New York a week or so ago, my dad decided to surprise me with tickets to The Phantom of the Opera. I didn’t really know if I would like the whole opera part of it, because honestly I’m not big on listening to people sing with a lot of vibrato in their voices. My dad said he thought I would like it…

It was possibly the coolest musical I have ever been to, and I have seen my fair share of musicals from Hairspray to Urinetown. The effects were really cool; if you haven’t seen it I won’t ruin the biggest surprise for you, but there was one part that had a certain item falling from the ceiling. The singing was absolutely amazing, it wasn’t all squeaky, like I was expecting. I could even understand what they were saying!

If you don’t have a chance to see the musical live try checking it out from the library. You can also learn what the musical is about from listening to it on CD, or reading the rewritten book based on the musical!

–Cerise, Teen Center Adviser

Leave a Reply

