Get A Personalized Reading List!

 Don’t know what books to read this summer? No problem – our kind librarians are eager to help! To get your own list of books picked out just for you, simply email a librarian from spl.org and tell them a little bit about yourself. What books do you like? What books don’t you like? What have you read recently? What are you looking for? The more information you give them, the more they have to work with. Then a few days later, a librarian will email you with a list of books recommended specially for you. It’s that easy!

To give you an idea of how this works, let me tell you about a recent request I put in. In preparation for an upcoming roadtrip, I emailed the librarians to ask about some good audiobooks. I told them that in the past my family has enjoyed books like Abarat by Clive Barker, The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly, and Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle. I also told them that I wanted something exciting and engaging, and about 10-14 hours long.

A few days later, a couple of the librarians returned my request with some suggestions: Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett, I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak (which I have already read and enjoyed), and The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by C. Alan Bradley. They also provided a short description for each of these titles. In addition, the librarians were kind enough to find an article from the library’s NoveList database that discussed two of the authors I had mentioned in my request – Clive Barker and John Connolly. Apparently they have similar styles, and this article described more authors that I might enjoy, such as Neil Gaiman, Richard Matheson, and Chuck Palahniuk. All in all, the librarians left me with some great options for my next audiobook.

Now go try it out for yourself! Just go to this page
to email a librarian and get your own personalized reading list.

Post by , teen blogger

Leave a Reply

