Four of the Best Mystery Authors, part 2


Hailed by many as the “Next Queen of Crime,” M.C. Beaton is the author of the popular Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth mysteries. Agatha Raisin, described by one reviewer as “a cross between Auntie Mame and Miss Marple, with a bit of bulldog thrown in” is a delightfully amusing, romance-hungry heroine who runs a detective agency in the Cotswolds and dually battles crime and middle-age, neither of which ever abate. These books can be read out of order (as I read them) but there are story elements that continue from book to book. The first of these is The Quiche of Death.

Beaton’s other detective, Hamish Macbeth, is the local bobby in the fictional Scottish town of Lochdubh (pronounced Lockdoo). Macbeth is not quite the tall, dark and handsome Scotsman, as he has a head of flaming reddish hair, an unnatural devotion to his pets, and is seemingly unaware of the effects he has on women. He is not above bribing witnesses to gain the information he needs, and his dry Scottish humor make the books a real delight to read. Also adding to the enjoyment are the ill-fated romances of the copper, which make for comic interlude between the crimes. The first in this series is Death of a Gossip.

Beaton, whose real name is Marion Chesney, has written under that name, as well as the pseudonyms Ann Fairfax and Jennie Tremaine.

Post by Evan, teen blogger

3 thoughts on “Four of the Best Mystery Authors, part 2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s