The 83rd Annual Academy Awards

It’s Oscar Sunday!  That means that from 3 p.m. PST I will be in my living room, eating food related to the nominated films, and watching as the stars take to the red carpet.  Likely to run longer than its scheduled 8:30 p.m. finish here, I have my ballot filled out and I’m ready to cross my fingers for my favorites.

I’m not going to go into extensive predictions here but I am basically on The Social Network train and I do believe that it will win most if not all that it’s projected to (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Score, etc.) with the only possible upsets coming from The King’s Speech or maybe Black Swan.  I have seen all 10 films nominated for Best Picture as of today, and TSN was truly my favorite because it just had the many of the aspects that I loved of the other films all in one place.  Plus, the score was amazing.

Being Hollywood’s biggest event, it’s the duty of the organizers to keep the show exciting and keep the audience engaged despite some of the acceptance speeches that seem to drag on for years.  I think that by having this year’s hosts be actors Anne Hathaway and James Franco, the Academy is attempting to attract a younger audience due to the difference in age between them and many of the (somewhat) older hosts of recent years.  Judging by the teasers released so far, they seem to be in great shape to put on a really good show (though snarky two-time Golden Globes host Ricky Gervais will always be my favorite-he even wrote a fake opening script for the Oscars!).

It’s possible that there will be many upsets/unpredictable wins tonight but I really hope that the films and people who do win deserve it.

Want to learn more about the Oscars and how this great awards show came to be?  If so, then be sure to check these books out:

The Academy Awards: The Complete History of the Oscars by Gail Kinn

Bringing Up Oscar: The Story of the Men and Women Who Founded the Academy by Debra Ann Pawlak

80 Years of the Oscar: The Official History of the Academy Awards by Robert A. Osborne

Post by Iva, Teen Center Adviser

Leave a Reply

