Getting to know your librarians – Wendy

Then…

What should we call you?
Wendy

Where can we find you?
Beacon Hill

Why teen services?
The first class I took in library school was Young Adult Literature.  We read Scott Westerfeld, David Levithan, and a lot of graphic novels and manga.  I was hooked!  Now someone pays me to read my favorite books and sometimes I get to play video games at work!

Favorite reference resource (print and/or online)?
Novelist (scroll down & click on Novelist) and is a great online database that lets you find new books based on books or authors you already know you like.  After I finished the Hunger Games Trilogy, I typed in “Mockingjay” and found my next book: Exodus by Julie Bertanga.

Favorite book of all time and favorite book right now?
Picking my all time favorite book is pretty much impossible.  I’ve read Matilda by Roald Dahl probably more times than I can count so that’s at the top of the list along with When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead.  My favorite books that I’ve read recently are Beauty Queens by Libba Bray and Paranormalcy by Kiersten White.

You live in Seattle – To umbrella or not to umbrella?
I’ve lost every single umbrella I’ve ever owned, so none for me!

The best thing about living in Seattle is…
Is it ridiculous to say the weather?  I love the short but gorgeous summers we have here and that it never gets too cold.  I lived in Texas where it could be 110 degrees for the entire month of August, and in Illinois where it could be -10 in January. I’ll trade that for a little rain!

We know you love Seattle but where would you most like to live?
New Zealand (the prettiest place on the planet)!

…Now

What is your favorite word?
Penultimate

What is your motto?
I was wise enough to never grow up while fooling most people into believing I had. (Margaret Mead)

Leave a Reply

