Things That Drive Me Crazy In Young Adult Books #9

Let me start by apologizing to the entire supernatural romance/urban fantasy genre. I’m sure there are lots of realistic books about gang violence or historical novels about wilderness survival that would drive me crazy. It’s possible I don’t read as much of those genres. It’s also possible the supernatural romance/urban fantasy genre is just extra maddening. Either way, it’s ended up in the drive-me-crazy crosshairs an unfair amount. And here it is again.

Because say you’re a girl with magic powers in a supernatural romance/urban fantasy and there’s some monster trying to kill you. I’m going to try to make this as simple as possible: USE YOUR MAGIC POWERS TO PROTECT YOURSELF. Do not wait for some guy to save you. Especially some guy who doesn’t even have magic powers. Use your powers and kick some monster butt.

While we’re on the subject, even if you’re not a girl with magic powers in a supernatural romance/urban fantasy, you can still protect yourself. Take a self-defense class. Because there are all kinds of monsters out there. And hot guys only show up to rescue you in books.

Is it just me? To find out if this drives you crazy, too, try these books:

Evernight

 

 

 

 

Evernight

Bianca, a new girl at the sinister Evernight boarding school, finds herself drawn to another outsider, Jared, but dark forces threaten to tear them apart and destroy Bianca’s entire world.

Starcrossed

 

 

 

 

Starcrossed

When shy Helen Hamilton starts having vivid dreams about three ancient, hideous women and suddenly tries to kill a new student at her Nantucket high school, she discovers that she is playing out some version of an old tale involving Helen of Troy, the Three Furies, and a mythic battle.

Time for a poll!

  • I would rather just wait for a hot guy to save me.
  • I’m on my way to a martial arts class right now.
  • I have thoughts on women’s self-defense I’ll share in the comments.

Add your comments below!

One thought on “Things That Drive Me Crazy In Young Adult Books #9

  1. Katherine

    I agree so much! There are too many of these books and it’s so hard to find ones that aren’t this genre! I like my fantasy adventure books with girl power such as Tamora Pierce!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

