The Hunger Games

Hunger Games

Hunger Games

 After I finished the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins one of the first things I did was search online to find out if it was going to be made into a movie.  I was in luck when I found that Lionsgate had purchased the rights to make it a movie.  Of course I realized that it would be two years or so until the movie would be released but after having just read the conclusion of the epic trilogy I was already excited.  Like anyone who is a huge fan of a book I was also worried that the movie wouldn’t do the book justice and would flop like Percy Jackson and the Olympians.  Worries aside, I hoped for the best.

When the movie was just starting to be produced there was much speculation over who would be cast for the important roles of Katniss, Peeta, Gale, Prim, Rue, and Haymitch.  This would be a critical first step for the portrayal of each of their characters.  My biggest worry was that the budget for the film wouldn’t be big enough for all of the crazy stunts that took place in the book since that was the problem with the Percy Jackson movie.  Once you take the action out of a movie based on an action book, the movie is bound to be boring.  When the movie trailers were released my fears were somewhat allayed as I saw some of the intense scenes from the book being brought to life.

My two year wait finally came to an end when I saw the Hunger Games on opening day (March 23).  Of course they couldn’t include every little detail, but as a whole I think that the movie was a great representation of the book.  ** SPOILER ALERT**  One of my favorite scenes was when Katniss volunteered for Prim in the District 12 reaping.  Jennifer Lawrence portrayed the perfect combination of fear and bravery that made it seem so real.  I was also really excited for the chariot entrance scene at the Capitol and how they would make Katniss and Peeta appear to be on fire.  The scene when Rue dies was also very touching when Katniss takes the time to sing her to sleep and then to lay flowers around her.  However I was a little disappointed when Katniss found the Mockingjay pin at the market instead of having the mayor’s daughter give it to her.  The pin is the motif of the following books so I had hoped they would have stuck to the original plot.  I was also a bit dismayed that at the end of the Hunger Games they were supposed to make the mutation dogs look slightly like the tributes but in the movie they were just angry, vicious dogs.  Finally I had hoped that Gale would have been in the movie longer since he played a big role in Katniss’ life.  In reality he was shown a bit in the beginning and a few shots later when he is moping about or being jealous about Katniss and Peeta’s budding relationship.

All in all I highly recommend The Hunger Games to everyone of all ages.  The story is an intriguing prediction of the future and an action-packed adventure that will draw in readers of all ages.  The movie adaptation had great action sequences and the actors and actresses did a really great job of getting in character and living up to the audience’s expectations.

– Rebecca, 16, Teen Center Advisor

One thought on “The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

