Teen Review: Like Water for Chocolate

 Recently, I had to read Like Water for Chocolate, by Laura Esquivel for a school assignment. It is the story of a young girl, Tita de la Garza, and her family. Tita has two older sisters, Rosaura and Gertrudis, and a very strict mother, Mama Elena, who has lots of traditions and rules that the family must follow. Including that Tita must take care of her mother until she dies since she is the youngest. This becomes a problem for Tita when a young boy, Pedro, asks to marry her. Her mother refuses to let him marry Tita but suggests Tita’s older sister Rosaura instead. They marry and the drama ensues from there.

The book is broken up into monthly entries with a recipe at the begging of each chapter that relates to the content in that chapter. I found this style very interesting because it is not written exactly like a diary as I had expected. Also, all the monthly entries do not take place in the same year, and this confused me at first.

I mostly liked this story and I was especially intrigued by some of the characters. I learned while reading this book that I do not like magical realism. It was the first book I had read of that genre and I found everything too random and unexplained. That is probably because my preferred genre of reading is realistic fiction. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys magical realism and wants to hear an interesting family and love story, with some recipes thrown in. Hope you enjoy it!

Review by Maddie, Teen Advisor
Northeast Branch

Leave a Reply

