Same-sex marriage

According to the New York Times in a recent article from May of this year, 50 percent of Americans approve same-sex marriages and the numbers continue to rise after President Obama’s announced support.  However, on the other end of the spectrum, opposition is quickly dwindling.  I, for one, don’t see why there should be so much confliction in morality regarding this issue because to me the answer is obvious: gay marriage should be 100% supported.

Although I make my position on gay marriage very clear to anyone who approaches me on the topic I do respect other opinions although I obviously don’t agree with them.  I’m definitely one of those people who have a unique family situation considering I’ve been primarily raised by two gay parents.  However, I’ve never understood what’s so ‘unique’ about it, probably because I’ve come to see it as a way of living verses something “different” from the “normal.”  Since I was little I can recall people asking me question such as “what’s it like to have two dads?” and “how can you live without a mom?”  For most people I retort with a short answer that generally puts an end to their pondering about my life.  However, in this case I feel it would be beneficial to voice my living situation to give context into my beliefs on the controversial issue of gay marriage.  Having two dads is like any other family, truly nothing is different aside from the obvious “no mom” aspects but in my unique situation I spend partial time with my grandmother (who’s my “mom” to me). I think of myself as someone who does have a mom, even if she’s biologically my grandmother, because a mom is not someone who gives birth to you, a mother is the person who’s there to love you, support you, and be there for you through everything.  I’m proud to say my grandma has done just that.

Anyways, to this day some people around the country and even the world still view gay marriage as wrong.  I have a tendency to ask people about their belief on this issue seeing as that it’s something that matters to me as an individual.  The common answer I receive from those who oppose same-sex marriage is that “it’s not moral” or that “gays can have equal rights but shouldn’t be allowed to get married.”  I generally disagree with these answers at an attempt to change people’s minds.  I’ve found that the “morality” regarding marriage comes into play with people who are religious (which is not a bad thing because morals as a whole are great to have) and they believe that marriage is to be between a man and a woman and that gay marriage is a “sin” or wrong to some degree.  However, having gone to a church when I was younger I can’t help but wonder how someone can say such a thing because to me people are people no matter their sex orientation and to say to someone “you cannot marry the one you love because of who you love” is hypocritical.  The reason I use the word hypocritical here is not to offend anyone at all but mainly to point out the fact that if God (more religions believe in a God or Gods) loves all people then why should this believed higher power disapprove of love between two people?  To me, the right to love someone is not only a human right but a right to any animal so who are we as a society to put bans on who can marry whom? Once again, gay marriage is a very touchy topic and it’s up to the individual to make their own choice.  Still, I believe that sharing opinions of such issues in an open and respectful way helps reduce some of the intense conflict.

You can find more information and many resources about same-sex marriage at the library.

Kendall, Teen Blogger

One thought on “Same-sex marriage

  1. Mia

    I love what you said about being someones mother. I am greatful to have two moms in my life and love that I can refer to them as so. They have made such an impact on my life guiding me through and helping me along the way of the winding roads of life. I totally agree with you nd am glad that you are on on my side! Brilliant work!

    xoxo,
    Mia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

