Teens in Public Service

This summer I participated in TIPS (Teens in Public Service) an organization that pairs teens with a non-profit in the greater Seattle area and then pays their wages to work there over the summer.  It was an amazing experience, and I learned so much from it!

I was placed at the Seattle Aquarium, and at first, I have to admit, I was not thrilled. As I began my internship I realized that it was the perfect place for me, it did not matter that I did not want to go into marine biology or conservation studies in the future.  As my first ever job, I was now responsible for talking to a supervisor, sending in weekly time sheets, and checking in and out of shifts.  I also got to work on the floor of the aquarium teaching the public who came from all around the world.  In addition, I met some other great volunteers, who made my days fly by and breaks filled with laughter and fun.  TIPS is not only a great way to get a paycheck for teens, but gives valuable work experience at organizations like the aquarium.  In addition, I participated in both a leadership training and day of service with the other interns, which was a great way to bond with them, and to find out about different service opportunities for teens in the Seattle Area!

TIPS empowers youth in Seattle to make a difference in their community through working at a local non-profit.  After interning for a summer, I plan on working closely with them this upcoming year and beyond to give back to an organization that has truly given me so much.

This summer was incredibly enjoyable for me, as I felt truly productive with my time.  I liked getting up each morning to go to work, as I felt like each and every day I had accomplished something, and as someone who thrives off structure, it was a dream come true!  Working at the aquarium has taught me to become more open-minded and take chances, because like I mentioned earlier I was not really sure if I would like it (at the aquarium), and if I did not take the chance I would not have gotten this unforgettable summer experience.

Priya, Northeast Teen Adviser

Leave a Reply

