Daily Archives: May 29, 2013

Teen Review: Lakota Woman

Lakota WomanTitle:  Lakota Woman

Author:  Mary Crow Dog (Brave Bird)

Summary:  Lakota Woman tells the true story of Mary Crow Dog’s life during the Second Ghost Dance and the beginning of the American Indian Movement (AIM) during the 1970s. Mary grows from someone with little to live for that wanders the country to a strong, independent woman.

I started reading it because… it was assigned in school.

I kept reading because… it showed a glimpse into a life so different from my own that I was fascinated.  I learned so much about Native American culture and their life styles that I just wanted to keep on learning more.

Main character(s): If they were in a yearbook, they would be voted Most Likely To:  Become a feminist leader.

Six Word Recap:  Indian Woman becoming strong and empowered.

This book reminded me of books by Sherman Alexie.  He too reveals the harsh facts of how Native Americans really live their lives.

Interesting fact: In the sequel, some of the transformations Mary made are reversed.

Roxy, Northeast Teen Adviser