Cracking the Hub: Pure

Hub Reading Challenge

I’ve been reading steadily and am a third of the way through The Hub Challenge.  I just finished my seventh book: Pure by Julianna Baggott.

First off, let me tell you that Pure was one of the Alex Award Winners for 2013.  The Alex awards are given to ten books published for adults that have teen appeal.  Pure is most definitely an adult novel, but the main characters are teenagers.
 
In a dystopian world where detonations leave some “pure” humans undamaged in a dome and physically altered survivors struggling to survive in a destroyed environment, Pressia has managed to maintain hope that things will get better.  This book is mostly a quest: a quest for survival, a search for a parent, and an escape from intolerable conditions.
 
I have mixed feelings about this story. Baggott wrote an affecting memorable tale I won’t forget; I found the images uncomfortable and intense. I read dystopias because I like the thought that there is hope despite the madness of the world’s conditions.  I don’t usually write about books I don’t like, and yet, I found this book left me almost without hope and I am unlikely to read the sequel when it is released.
 
If you’ve read Pure, leave a comment and let us know your thoughts.  Is the writing fresh?  Does it leave you feeling hopeless?
 
Next Up: Drama by Raina Telgemeier.

4 thoughts on “Cracking the Hub: Pure

  1. violet_whale

    Drama is a really great book, I’ve read it. I think that it appeals to most people who read it, and I hope your next review on it is positive!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

