Teen Reviewed: The Name of the Wind

Name-of-the-WindThe Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is the first book in my new favorite medieval fantasy trilogy. This poetic first installment in The Kingkiller Chronicle takes its reader through the life of Kvothe, the legendary hero who has faked his own death and restarted his life as an inn keeper. This provides a very interesting presentation in which the 30-ish year old Kvothe tells the story of how he became the hero of legend.

The first book highlights Kvothe’s time at the University learning how to become a master archivist (one of my favorite parts about Rothfuss’s writing is the scientific way the “magic” in his world works, much like “superpowers” in Orson Scott Card’s Pathfinder books.)

Six Word Review: Tolkien mixed with Rowling Hero’s Life-story.

I loved Kvothe but Rothfuss did one of my least favorite things authors (or film makers) do. They make the main character flawless. When you make your main character flawless, the only two possible conflicts are taking something away from him/her, or simply watching him/her grow and improve.

I give this book an 8 out of 10.

The second book (which I am currently reading) improved on my main complaint, the length of the book. There are four hundred more pages in the second book!

I started reading this because it was recommended by a friend and I kept on reading because I wanted to catch up before the final book comes out in April and I absolutely love how well Rothfuss illustrates what it feels like to love an instrument, love a girl that doesn’t love you back, and the sound of silence.

 –Loren, Teen Center Adviser
Loren-CROP

Leave a Reply

