Manga Reviewed: Hayate the Combat Butler

HayateTitle:  Hayate the Combat Butler
Author: Kenjiro Hata

Summary:  Extremely unlucky yet skilled boy works as butler to eccentric otaku rich girl.

Gut reaction: Good comedy, great for otaku.

Why:  Although lately it is taking a more serious tone, the story’s strengths lie in its constant comedic interactions between characters and casual allusions to otaku culture.  The characters are all very funny in their struggles, although most are girls, and the sheer randomness of poor Hayate’s misfortunes never ceases to amuse.  Recently the plot has become more serious and I feel that it’s losing its appeal.  I am very far into the series now and I cannot give it up so this is quite disconcerting.  The first 20 or so volumes are hilarious.

Who would like this book?  Any fan of shoujo, parody, or comedy would enjoy this. Also, hardcore otaku will get many references and gain satisfaction.  As I’m stuck with it for the long haul, I hope it returns to its token comedy soon…

–Lexie, 15, West Seattle

WTS

One thought on “Manga Reviewed: Hayate the Combat Butler

  1. Rae

    I love this series. I’m way behind, but it cracks me up. I feel pretty bad for Hayate, though. A true case of “if something can go wrong, it will.” 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

