If You Like Fault in Our Stars…

…then you may love the titles on Eric’s list below (originally published on Shelftalk, our blog for adults).  Also, you’re probably aware that the movie is opening TONIGHT!  We really want to know what y’all think about the movie…or the book.  Drop us a line in the Comments or write us as much as you want…raving or venting, we want to know!

John Green’s popular and acclaimed novel The Fault in Our Stars gets the big screen treatment this week! Here are some books that form a complementary reading constellation.

The Fault in Our Stars by John GreenSomebody Up There Hates You by Hollis SeamonThe Summer I Found You by Jolene B. Perry

Somebody Up There Hates You by Hollis Seamon

On the surface this story of cancer-stricken teens seems very similar to Green’s novel, but this humorous, moving story stands on its own. The snarky narrator Richard doesn’t have long to live, but is making the most of his remaining days in the hospice wing with Sylvie, another teen awaiting the same fate.

The Summer I Found You by Jolene B. Perry

After returning from Afghanistan with a disability, former soldier Aiden finds support in Kate, a high school senior recently diagnosed with Type 1 diabetes. Though this novel lacks the terminal illness present in the previous two titles, it explores the reality of disabilities and the unique challenges they can present in both planning for the future and falling in love.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie PerkinsAmy & Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan MatsonThis Star Won't Go Out by Esther Earl

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

For fans of the star-crossed romance element in Green’s novel, Perkins’ story of an American teenage girl finding unexpected love in a Paris school should hit the spot. This is a light, lovely story in the lovely City of Light.

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

If you like that many of John Green’s plots involve the characters taking a transformative trip, check out Matson’s cross-country summer love story. Guilt-stricken after a car-accident claimed her father’s life, Amy gets on the road to healing with Roger, who is enlisted by Amy’s mother to get Amy safely to Connecticut from California.

This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl

John Green dedicated his book to the late Esther Earl, who passed away in 2010. This collection of various stories and journal entries chronicles her short but extraordinary life.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s