Teen Reviewed: The True Meaning of Smekday​

Title:  The True Meaning of Smekday True Meaning of Smekday

Author: Adam Rex

Summary: The year is 2013, and Earth has been invaded and conquered by aliens. 11.5 year old Gratuity Tucci (or “Tip” for short) is left with no one but her cat Pig after her mother gets abducted by the aliens.  She sets out for Florida to try to find her mom, and along the way she forms an unlikely friendship with an alien named J.Lo.  These two are thrown into a hilarious and witty adventure that involves flying cars, animals called koobish, and lots of cats as they do their best to save the world.

I started reading it because it was recommended to me by one of my teachers.

I kept reading because it was fast-paced, funny, and I grew very fond of the characters. I never stopped laughing, and I always wanted to know what happened next.

If Tip was in a yearbook, she would be voted “Most Likely to Change the World and Not Take Any Credit for it.” If J.Lo was in a yearbook, he would be voted “Worst Driver” or “Most Likely to Eat a Urinal Deodorizer.”

This book reminded me of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy because it is quick-witted and funny.

I would recommend this to anyone who likes to laugh.  A fun read that will bring a smile to your face no matter how old you are.  😀

–Hannah, 16, Greenwood

GWD

Leave a Reply

