My favorite book by John Green – An Abundance of Katherines

AAoK

Title: An Abundance of Katherines

Author: John Green

Summary: Colin Singleton was proclaimed a prodigy at a young age. That’s a lot to live up to. While he tries to piece together what he’s going to do with his life, he attends high school and has curiously only dated girls named Katherine. The novel consists of Colin and his friend Hassan’s summer adventures before the first year of college, as well as flashbacks to Colin’s experiences with several of the Katherines. In order to get Colin’s mind off of his most recent Katherine break up, Hassan encourages Colin to come on a road trip with him. The pair doesn’t have any place in particular in mind, but they end up in a small southern town called Gutshot, Tennessee. Colin and Hassan’s search for what to do with their lives ensues.

Six Word Review: My favorite book by John Green.

I started reading because: I like John Green’s work.

I would give this book 9/10 stars because it’s humorous, it’s relatable, it’s intelligent, and it’s fun to read.

I loved that Colin’s last name was Singleton. He has always been the dumpee instead of the dumper so it’s only fitting that his last name be Singleton.

I hated… I don’t know if I really hated any part of this book. Like I said, it’s my favorite by John Green.

Anything else we should know? There are also some really cool footnotes and if you’re into math there are some graphs and other mathematical equations. Don’t be annoyed if you’re not into math though because I’m not really either but John Green introduces the math rarely and in such a funny way that you barely even notice it’s real math. You don’t even have to do any work. No solving for x or cosine or anything, I promise.

–Regina, 17, West Seattle

WTS

 

Leave a Reply

