The Fault in Our Stars: Finished it in two days!

The_Fault_in_Our_StarsTitle: The Fault In Our Stars

Author: John Green

This book was recommended to me by Sophie a long time ago but I dismissed it due to the fact I thought it was going to be too depressing to read. I can’t really handle depressing books but my friend has been urging me to read it and I decided to give it a shot. I finished this book in two days, that’s how amazing it was. The book was brilliant, it wasn’t a depressing book that only showed the negative effects of having cancer but it also showed the positives, that just because you have cancer it doesn’t mean that you should let it bring you down.

This book follows 16-year-old Hazel Grace Lancaster who attends a cancer patient support group at her mother’s request. She disagrees with the idea of going to the support group but she doesn’t want to upset her mom by saying no. At the support group she has a friend named Isaac who suffers from a tumor in his eye. At one of the meetings Isaac mentions that he will be having surgery that requires his real eye to be removed, and the surgery will leave him blind. He decided to bring his friend Augustus Waters and he catches Hazel’s eye. They both started talking after the meeting and they find out they have some things in common. As time goes by they find themselves becoming closer and closer but Hazel fears that she might hurt him in the process and tries to stop seeing him, but Augustus Waters becomes even more persistent towards her and then confesses his love for her.

This book contains all of their adventures, their greatest achievements, and their worst downfalls. I was interested throughout the whole book (2 days! That’s a record for me). This book made me cry, it made me laugh, and it kept me excited for what was to come next. This book was amazing and I would recommend it to anyone who hasn’t read it and  you won’t regret reading it.

–Friyad, Columbia, Teen Blogger

COL

Leave a Reply

