To Kill a Mockingbird: Read for school, reread for life

Mockingbird coverTitle: To Kill A Mockingbird

Author: Harper Lee

Summary: A young girl by the name of Scout along with her brother, Jem, and the new boy in the neighborhood, Dill, are growing up during the Great Depression in a racist white community. Scout, Jem, and Dill become fascinated with their neighbor, Boo Radley. He’s lived in the house on their street for years, but they’ve never seen him and as far as they know he’s never left the house. The house is owned by Boo’s brother, Nathan Radley. Scout starts school and then begins to be bullied by the other kids when her dad, a lawyer, decides to take a case defending a black man who is accused of raping a white woman. By the time the outcome of the case is revealed, Scout has learned a lot about people and how important it is to always view things from other people’s perspectives.

Six Word Review: Read for school, reread for life.

I started reading because: It’s a book that I first read when I was in the 6th or 7th grade so I wanted to reread it to gain a better understanding of this interesting story.

I would give this book 9/10 stars because it’s a relatively slow start, but it really picks up once you get into it.

I loved the mystery of Boo Radley and Scout’s attitude. I hated the verdict. No one wants that verdict.

If the lead character Scout was in a high school yearbook, she would be voted Most Likely To: Talk Back To The Teacher

Anything else we should know? I know it’s hard to love things that you had to read for school, but it’s a really good book so try to be open to reading it again for fun.

–Regina, 17, West Seattle Teen Blogger

WTS

 

One thought on “To Kill a Mockingbird: Read for school, reread for life

  1. trinitygrau

    I love this post, Regina (if I may call you that)! I find that all too often people don’t enjoy required reads because they feel like it’s a chore. I love reading most of my required reads though because they turn out to be very good. The one thing I absolutely hated was Don Quixote. Don’t ever ask me to read that one again. Awesome post, I loved the way you reviewed this!

    P.S. Have you ever seen the movie?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

