My summer of Volunteering: Hailey

SWTA group of teens spent their summer volunteering at the Southwest Branch Library. Now Hailey tells us what she really thought about her volunteer experience assisting with programs, planning a program for other teens, and helping out their librarians!

 

Hailey, what did you think about volunteering at the Southwest Branch Library this summer?

As the end of summer is unfortunately and rapidly approaching, I reflect on what I have accomplished as a free teenager for the past months, and hopefully I come to the conclusion that I’ve done something purposeful.  I know that most kids totally and utterly detest the sheer thought of anything related to school, and I’m not denying the fact that I am one of those people, but this summer I did something out of the ordinary for me.  This fall, I’ll be a high school freshman, and as much as I am excited, I’m also just as nervous.  I already have nine years of school under my belt (don’t forget preschool), so what could be so different?  Although I don’t have older siblings, I’ve gone through life without any helpful advice from experience such as homework help and some morale support, but I have heard through the grape vine what to expect this school year. 

One concern I conjured up, would be the undeniable fact that I have to complete more community service hours.  I understand that I’m in the big leagues, but with my schedule it’s hard to juggle school, sports, and friends with little time left for things such as volunteering.  It’s not that I don’t like having to do volunteer work, it’s finding the time and a worthwhile cause.  So, I wanted to help myself out and complete some hours when I have more time on my hands than usual, and found the Seattle Public Library.

I didn’t know exactly what to expect when I signed up, but my first impression would be straightening out the shelves, repairing books, etc. But as it turns out, I did far from that this summer, and I realized that there’s so much more to the library and what it can offer.  At first, I wasn’t quite sure how I felt about creating a volunteer led program.  I didn’t know the basics and guidelines of a program, and I wasn’t sure how to connect a program to reading.  It worked out better and was more fun than I had anticipated, but it was hard setting up the program when you can’t consult with the other volunteers at the same time (given everyone’s personal schedule).  I had signed up to volunteer under the assumption that I got to choose what I wanted to help out with (according to my strengths and what I enjoy doing), but didn’t quite get the chance to do so.  Overall, I had a good first experience and I would definitely continue to help out at the library this fall.

Hailey, Teen Blogger, Southwest Branch

Leave a Reply

