WOIS: Mega Help for Teens

WOIS can help

I’ve been having trouble trying to figure out what I’m going to do for college and for a career, or if I’m going to even HAVE a career or just a job.  So to figure this out I grabbed the big book of majors and made a list of things I was interested in (there wasn’t that many). Then one day I was talking to Jesten (the teen librarian who I listen to) about the possible majors I found and she liked the idea of an Archivist.  She mentioned some work at museums.  THAT got my attention, but . . . I had no clue what jobs were at a museum so I asked her for a list and a list I got, she then encouraged me to go to WOIS, and it is AMAZING!!

Once you go to WOIS there is an occupation button that has a HUGE list of jobs and VERY in-depth descriptions of the job. It will tell you the typical tasks, overview, school requirements (if you need a high school diploma, bachelors or masters degree), the physical demands of the job, the average wages, and I think a few more. Some of the jobs allow you to have an interview with people who have that job. Wow.

Now I’m not saying that EVERY job is on this database, so please don’t be mad if the job you want isn’t on it, but I think most jobs are there. WOIS is incredible, it helped me so much!!!!!

It also has a “school search” I haven’t checked it out yet but it will probably be awesome too! 🙂

To get to the website you can follow these steps:

  1. Go to Articles & Research on The Seattle Public Library website.
  2. Scroll down  and click the “Jobs and Careers” link.
  3. Then scroll to “WOIS/The Career Information System“.

(Most times you can only access WOIS from a library computer or at school if it has the code). Check it out!

–Freyja, 17, Magnolia

MAG

Leave a Reply

