Need a book for winter break? I have a list!

There’s always so many books that I want to, but never have the time to read!  Of the many books that are on my to-read list, these are my top five.

1.)    The Book Thief by Markus Zusak bookthief

My sister got this book for me as a present a few years ago. I read the first 30 or so pages, and then for some reason I didn’t pick it up again. My mom “borrowed” the book from me (I swear she’s a book thief – pun intended), and I didn’t get it back until a few months later. In 8th grade, I read Zusak’s ‘I Am the Messenger,’ and I loved it. Ever since then, ‘The Book Thief’ has been one of my top five to-read books. Also, the movie is out so after I get around to reading it, I can watch that too.

2.)    City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

TImagehe Mortal Instruments series is my favorite series that I have read, no doubt. The last book in this series FINALLY comes out on May 27th, which has been one of the most painful waits for a book. Hopefully Amazon is quick in getting the book to me, because I do not think my sanity will hold past the release date. Unfortunately, I asked Cassandra Clare if she would be coming to Seattle for a book tour, and she said that she would not be (due to some contract that keeps her from touring throughout most of the U.S.)  (*sobs forever*).  But we’ll have the book right? I mean, she’s only killing six (known) characters.  I’ll try not to cry too hard.  And if you’re looking for spoilers, check her Twitter and her Tumblr.  She’s given away a few things that could either comfort your worries, or perhaps heighten them (but hey, Church the cat doesn’t die!).

3.)    Allegiant by Veronica Roth allegiant

Well, this is the last book in the Divergent series, and it’s been out for a while… I’ve been avoiding this book for the past couple of months since the ending was spoiled for me.  I’ll probably get around to reading it… Someday… The second book was a little confusing to me, so maybe I could reread it to clear some things up.  And then, there’s also the movie that was recently (or not-so-recently?) in theaters, which was pretty good.  And when I saw it, I hadn’t read the books in at least a year, so I didn’t have too much critique of the differences between the book and the movie.  My friend, on the other hand, had plenty to share with me.  Maybe I’ll muster up the courage to get through this book.  We’ll see.

4.)    Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor dreamsofgodsandmonsters

ACTUALLY MAYBE THIS IS MY FAVORITE SERIES.  This and the Mortal Instruments are tough competition. Laini Taylor writes beautifully, and this story is incredible. I’ve actually started reading this book, slowly making my way through it, (because school takes up all of my time – it’s not boring!) and I’m about a third of the way through it. I  would highly recommend this book.  Laini Taylor lives in Portland, Oregon, and she has the coolest hot-pink hair.  And one time, she replied to me on Twitter.  Her favorite kind of cheese is ‘EVERYKIND’.

5.)    Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children #2) by Ransom Riggs hollowcity

I read the first book last summer, and loved how the book incorporates old photographs into the story. I really love the setting that the first book set, the characters, and the plot. This was one of those books where you need the next book after you finish the first. The second book has been out for a few months now, and I just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. But since summer is coming, I’m looking forward to reading it. There’s also the graphic novel, for the first book, that came out recently. Cassandra Jean illustrated it, and I’m a big fan of her work.

Most of these books are part of a series, and I would recommend any of these series.  Cassandra Clare and Laini Taylor are two of my favorite authors, and they craft wonderful storylines and characters and I love their writing… I could go on about this.  But if you’re looking for books to read, I would definitely recommend these authors and series.

–Claire, Magnolia, Teen Volunteer

MAG

Leave a Reply

