Falling in Love with Mr. Darcy

Pride and Prejudice Book It

Greg and Patrick with Mr. Darcy at Book-It Theater’s production of Pride and Prejudice. #haughtyhotties

I have almost never heard so cruel a question as “what is your favorite book?” It’s a horrible thing to ask a person, it’s like asking them to pick a favorite food, or a favorite movie. It requires much deliberation and often it will just stress out the person asked it. But if you were to ask me right now, I would say Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

I will explain my reason simply. It’s a fantastic story. Pride and Prejudice is wonderful, and it has stayed within our culture due to the relevance of its message. Too often I think people assume that it’s just another romance novel when it’s really not, it’s about recognizing one’s flaws, and overcoming them so you can be a better person; a lesson I think nearly everyone could benefit from. The first way I interacted with Pride and Prejudice was actually not by reading the novel, but by watching the Lizzie Bennet Diaries on YouTube. This Book, created by Hank Green, is a modern-day adaptation of Pride and Prejudice told through a series of web videos. It is relatable, clever, well acted, witty and engaging. I devoured it; I watched the entire series (including the Lydia spin-off) in less time than I care to admit. I would strongly recommend this series to anyone, not just Pride and Prejudice fans.

Shortly after I began my obsession with the Lizzie Bennet Diaries we started reading Pride and Prejudice in class.  Once again I loved it, I had never really enjoyed older novels, anything before the 1930’s typically felt tedious to me, but Jane Austen managed to pull me into her world and I was hooked.  Of course because we were reading the book in class I decided to watch the movie (not to get out of reading, just because I wanted to), and I loved that! (Are you sensing a theme yet?) The 2005 movie adaptation of Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightley is quite possibly the cutest thing I have ever seen in my life.  I’m asking for the DVD for Christmas.

I’m not about to claim that Pride and Prejudice will change your life, I just like it a lot.  I think it’s an incredible, relatable story, one that can be applied just as well now as it could then.  It’s a story about all kinds of people, one that can be told and retold.  I could go on and on, but really you get the idea.  I wanted to share a story about a book that changed the way I see the world and myself.  I would recommend reading or watching any of the adaptations I mentioned above to everyone.

Or, if theater is more your thing, Book-it Theater currently has an AMAZING production of Pride and Prejudice going on. I already saw it and I really want to go again! You should all go see it! And remember, we all deserve a Mr. Darcy!   😉

Book-It Pride and Prejudice!

Book in the catalog.

Movies in the catalog.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

–Grace, 17, Greenwood

GWD

Leave a Reply

