Poetry – It’s Not That Difficult :)

Poetry seems difficult to do, at least it seemed that way to me. I had always thought that poetry had to rhyme, but I could never make a poem that rhymed AND made sense or had to follow a format (limerick, haiku, ode and so on) so that discouraged me from writing them. But then I took a poetry class at my school and the poetry world/idea opened up to me.

Poems don’t need to rhyme!!

Amazing, right?  It just needs some sort of flow, a rhythm. Or, of course, you can google or ask your L.A/Poetry teacher about the different formats of poems.

Just don’t be discouraged, I’ll add some of my poems to help you see it’s easy.  🙂

–Freyja, 18, Magnolia, Teen Blogger

I just wanna

Feel the grass beneath my feet, between my toes

I just wanna

Feel the bark under my finger

I just wanna

Listen to the wind, hear the birds

I just wanna

Smell the grass, breathe clean air

Fields of green & forests of Emerald diluted by flowers

A Dream

A Utopia

Far from concrete

Far from technology

Far from humanity

       Magic unbroken

     Peace unchallenged

 

 

If I was a window

I’d be a stained glass one

Colorful

Impossible to see through me

 

If I were a window

I’d have a latch

But it would be rusted shut

Impossible to open me

 

If I were a window

I’d be cracked

Not broken

Impossible to mend the fractures

 

 

If you could be

An animal

What would you be?

I would be a bird

Why?

To fly away, to be with the sky, to be feather light

To sing, to nest, to fly

If you could be

An animal

What would you be?

I would be a cat

Why?

To curl up on a lap, to sleep in the sun, to sit in high places

To purr, to scratch, to sit on laps

If you could be

An animal

What would you be?

Leave a Reply

