Dogs, Seattle… what’s not to love?

Art of Racing in the RainTitle: The Art of Racing in the Rain

Author: Garth Stein

Summary: Enzo is a golden retriever belonging to Denny Swift, a race car driver and employee at a high-end car dealership in Seattle. Enzo is a very observant dog and he understands more than people think he does. After learning about reincarnation, Enzo aspires to become a human in his next life. The novel follows Enzo as he accompanies Denny in the various situations life brings. Enzo learns what he can from these experiences and shares his wisdom with us, the reader.

Six Word Review: Dogs, Seattle… what’s not to love?

I started reading because: I love dogs and I think it’s kind of cool when stories are told from a dog’s point of view. Very different perspective to explore.

I would give this book 7/10 stars because while it was an interesting story because it questioned what it really means to be human, I had to power through some slow parts to get to the good stuff.

I loved that one of the characters attends Holy Names Academy (my high school) and that the story was set in Seattle. I hated that the character that went to Holy Names was one of my least favorite characters because of her poor choices and immoral actions.

If Enzo was in a high school yearbook, he would be voted Most Likely To: Be The First Dog To Attend High School

Anything else we should know? The book was inspired by a Mongolian documentary titled State of Dogs as well as the poem The Revenant by Billy Collins which is told from the perspective of a dog.

–Regina, 17, West Seattle

WTS

Leave a comment